Arizona's marijuana possession penalties are far too harsh; tell your legislators!
Did you know that Arizona’s marijuana
possession laws are some of the harshest in the nation? For example, the penalty for possession of just one ounce of marijuana
can be a felony that carries a potential penalty of 18 months in jail and a
$150,000 fine! And, the state is ranked 16th in the country in terms of arrests
per 100,000 citizens.
We are pleased to announce that Rep. John
Fillmore (R-Apache Junction) has introduced a marijuana “decriminalization”
bill, H.B. 2044, which would reclassify marijuana
possession of one ounce or less from a felony to a petty offense punishable
only by a fine of up to $400. This bill would make Arizona the 14th state to
remove criminal penalties for possessing small amounts of marijuana.
Like all states, Arizona has limited resources
with which to fight against violent crime and property crime. This bill would
allow police to focus their resources on serious crimes rather than continuing
to waste time prosecuting Arizona residents for simple marijuana possession.
legislators and urge them to reduce the penalty for possessing an ounce or less
you for taking action!